Parting Glass
Parting Glass
  • ISBN13:9781508284413
  • 出版社:Blackstone Pub
  • 作者:Gina Marie Guadagnino
  • 裝訂:有聲書
  • 規格:14.2cm*15.2cm*3.2cm (高/寬/厚)
  • 版次:Unabridged
  • 出版日:2019/03/05
  • 定  價:NT$1400元
  • 優惠價: 791106
  • 可得紅利積點:33 點
  • 庫存: 無庫存,下單後進貨(採購期約45個工作天)
  • 加入購物車
分享:
商品介紹
  • 商品簡介
  • Devoted maid Mary Ballard's world is built on secrets, and it's about to be ripped apart at the seams, in this lush and evocative debut set in nineteenth-century New York-perfect for fans of Sarah Waters' Fingersmith and Emma Donoghue's Slammerkin.

    By day, Mary Ballard is lady's maid to Charlotte Walden, wealthy and accomplished belle of New York City high society. Mary loves Charlotte with an obsessive passion that goes beyond a servant's devotion, but Charlotte would never trust Mary again if she knew the truth about her devoted servant's past. Because Mary's fate is linked to that of her mistress, one of the most sought-after debutantes in New York, Mary's future seems secure-if she can keep her own secrets, that is.

    On her nights off, Mary sheds her persona as prim and proper lady's maid to reveal her true self-Irish exile Maire O'Farren-and finds release from her frustration in New York's gritty underworld in the arms of a prostitute and as drinking companion to a decidedly motley crew consisting of a barkeeper and members of a dangerous secret society.

    Charlotte, meanwhile, has a secret of her own: she's having an affair with a stable groom, unaware that her lover is actually Mary's own brother. When the truth of both women's double lives begins to unravel, Mary is left to face the consequences. Forced to choose between loyalty to her brother and loyalty to Charlotte, between society's respect and true freedom, Mary finally learns that her fate lies in her hands alone.

    A captivating historical fiction of nineteenth-century upstairs-downstairs New York City, The Parting Glass examines sexuality, race, and social class in ways that feel startlingly familiar and timely. A perfectly paced, romantically charged story of overlapping love triangles that builds to a white-knuckle climax, this is an irresistible debut that's impossible to put down.

    本週66折

      • 火病:不可輕忽火氣,長期累積將會燒掉健康 現代人都應該知道的舒壓、降火療法
      • 優惠價:185元
      • 楚狂人投資致富SOP2
      • 優惠價:310元
      • 甘地(平)
      • 優惠價:169元
      • 石頭裡的巨人:米開蘭基羅傳奇(二版)
      • 優惠價:139元
      • 我的缺點是缺你(簡體書)
      • 優惠價:139元
      • 團扇
      • 優惠價:132元
      • 現代實用日本語文法
      • 優惠價:205元
      • 馬上就能動手做!Cosplay道具實作攻略:從劍、槍等武器~王冠,靠自己做出低成本、外型精良的Cosplay道具!
      • 優惠價:211元
      • Still Stuck
      • 優惠價:299元
      • 佛家哲理通析(二版)
      • 優惠價:191元

    推薦書展
    公司簡介服務條款隱私權政策異業合作人才招募圖書館採購/編目三民禮券兌換處好站連結三民‧東大‧弘雅目錄古籍‧古典目錄